I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: Halifax may be a small city, but we’re wired for the digital world. Third Wednesday is just one example of how connected and collaborative an environment it can be in the city. The group meets, well, every third Wednesday of each month. There’s a good mix of people in attendance from social media virgins to mavens.

Often, these types of events can be intimidating, but not so at these meet ups. They’re very casual and everyone has a genuine interest in learning about what you do and sharing knowledge. Overall, it’s a great networking and learning opportunity.

We promise not to maim you."

"Third Wednesday Halifax: We promise to not maim you."

And just because it’s internet-related, doesn’t mean you’re going to find yourself in a room full of WoW gamers who showed up to meet ElfGirl99 IRL or whatever.

There’s actually no semblance to any MMORPG. In fact, the motto of the meetings should be: “Third Wednesdays Halifax: We promise to not maim you.” That’s how nice everyone is.

Granted, during my first appearance at one of these meet ups, pretty much everyone only knew me by my online moniker Aliasgrace. To be fair, this was before I came out of the anonymous blogging closet.

For more information or to sign up for upcoming meet ups check out Third Wednesday at Facebook or Eventbrite respectively. Unfortunately, I won’t be able to make it out to tonight’s event because I’ll be packing, but I hope to see some of you on some future Wednesday.

If you’re visiting this site from outside of Halifax and you’ve got similar meet ups in your city, feel free to drop an invite in the comments section for other readers to check out.

